The sixth annual festival of rugby saw over 75 alumni return to Hampton for a day of rugby in memory of Chris Mapletoft OH (2013).

The day began with a fiercely contested alumni sevens touch rugby tournament, which was won this year by the 2014 Leavers. Captained by Akira Takenaka OH (2014) last year’s beaten finalists went one better this year with a convincing win over the 2017 Leavers in the final.

The main event of the day, the Hampton 1st XV vs. the 2018 Leavers match, proved to be a tense affair, with the match coming down to the final play. Alec Lloyd-Seed OH (2018) crashed over from short range and then provided the conversion to secure a 19-19 draw for the 2018 Leavers XV.

After refreshments in the Dining Hall, Mrs Lesley Mapletoft presented 2018 Leavers’ Captain, Nick Van Der Mewe OH (2018) and current 1st XV Captain Louis Lynagh with the Chris Mapletoft Trophy.